© 2017 Partnership for a Green City. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

The Joan Riehm Memorial  Environmental Leadership Award

Honoring Sustainable Environmental Leadership in Public Service

The Partnership for a Green City honors the memory of Joan Riehm, a dedicated public servant, lifelong advocate of living “green” and public partnership visionary with this unique award in sustainable environmental leadership in public service.  The award will comprise a monetary element and a plaque, which will be awarded annually between Earth Day and the start of the next school year.

We seek to recognize an individual or a group that leads environmental sustainability efforts in the community.  The person or group could have implemented a sustainability project, program or event.  The nominee could be knowledgeable and educate others or may be a catalyst in the organization or community.  They may lead by example or be a change agent.  We want to know the work that the nominee should be recognized for, moving toward greater environmental sustainability.

Eligibility – Public service employees or groups, specifically in the Partnership entities (Jefferson County Public Schools, Louisville Metro government and University of Louisville) and quasi-governmentals (Louisville Regional Airport Authority, Louisville Water Company, Metropolitan Sewer District and Transit Authority of River City). All nominees should possess a leadership role in the promotion of environmental sustainability.  There are no self-nominations.

Click on the pdf to download a nomination form.  To receive an application in Word format by e-mail or if there are questions, please contact Brent Fryrear, bfryrear@louisville.edu or 502-852-8854.  Electronic or paper submittals are due by March 31 each year.

​​Previous Recipients List

2010 – Larry Owsley, Vice President, Business Affairs, University of Louisville
2011 – Mike Mulheirn, Executive Director, Facilities & Transportation, Jefferson County Public Schools
2012 – The Honorable Tina Ward-Pugh, Louisville Metro Councilwoman, District 9
2013 – Pamela Dumm, manager of business operations at Jefferson Community & Technical College
2014 – Darleen Horton, Teacher, Cane Run Elementary School, Jefferson County Public Schools
2015 – Mike Hayman, Citizen Volunteer – Louisville Metro Government

2016 - The Honorable Tom Owen, Louisville Metro Councilman, District 8 and University of Louisville Archivist/Historian

2017 - Justin Mog, University of Louisville Assistant to the Provost for Sustainability Initiatives

2018 - Jack Leppert, Fern Creek High School - Jefferson County Public Schools - May 2018 Graduate and Lauren Niemann, Fern Creek High School - Jefferson County Public Schools

Nomination Form